STANFORD UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF EARTH SCIENCES - EARTH SYSTEMS PROGRAM

Sustainable Choices

Resources

The recommendations on the Sustainable Choices Web site and Card have been divided into the following categories. Click on a category to learn more about specific choices.

General Sustainability Resources

Please visit the “Take Action” page of the Web site for detailed resources in each specific category. For some general sustainability resources and organizations, start by browsing the links listed below.

National environmental advocacy organizations:
Natural Resources Defense Council: www.nrdc.org/
Environmental Defense: www.environmentaldefense.org/
Sierra Club: www.sierraclub.org/

Global warming information and resources: www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/climate/globalwarming.html
www.epa.gov/climatechange/
www.figthglobalwarming.com/
www.nrdc.org/globalWarming/

Ecological footprint and carbon calculators:
www.ecofoot.org/
www.cool-it.us/

Carbon offset programs and renewable energy certificates:
www.cleanair-coolplanet.org/ConsumersGuidetoCarbonOffsets.pdf
www.entermotionclients.com/village-green/

Sustainable food:
Food Routes: www.foodroutes.org/
Sustainable Table: www.sustainabletable.org/
Eat Well Guide: www.eatwellguide.org/

Sustainable transportation:
Public Transportation: www.publictransportation.org/
Fuel Economy: www.fueleconomy.gov/

Energy efficiency in the home:
U.S. Department of Energy: www.eere.energy.gov/
Energy Star: www.energystar.gov/

Water efficiency:
Water Saver Home: www.h2ouse.net/
Water Sense: www.epa.gov/watersense/

Recycling:
http://earth911.org/